Top problem

edited December 2011 in Feature Mustangs
Ok, I'm new to convertibles having just purchased my 92 feature a little over a week ago. I had it shipped to me, which of course had the top up for transportation. Well, I was showing my father in law the car and decided then to drop the top. The top went down perfect. But when I got ready to put it back up, it did nothing. It will do absolutely nothing now. I've gone both ways on the top switch and all I get is a "click" sound coming from the rear going either way. So, what do I have to do to get my top up? What am I missing? Why would the top go down so smooth and flawlessly and then do nothing when I try to put it up?? Help me please!

Comments

• the top motor has failed. Commons problem! You can put the top back up manually.
  • So even though the top went down perfect, as soon as I try putting it back up 2 minutes later, the motor has already played out? Where is the motor located? How hard is it to replace and how much will it end up costing? Anything else I should replace while I'm replacing the motor?
  • There are TWO relays in the trunk right next to the top motor. ONE is the UP relay and the other is the down relay. Check the switch on the dash to see if when you attempt to set the top lower the top tries moving downward. If it does swap the relays and see if the top goes up but clicks when you try to put it down. If you have the trunk surround panels in the trunk you will not be able to see the top motor or relays until you remove the center section to expose the underside of the top well liner. If you see the fabric liner lift it up and the motor and relays are right there.