Feature Cars at the 2012 Grand National

edited September 2012 in Feature Events
Feature cars are very well represented at the Grand National this year:

3 7-up cars
3 92 cars
1 Yellow Black
1 Triple White

Question: Has anyone seen a low mile all original 92 or 93 that has the red rubber positive battery terminal cover? I've seen those on low mile Cobras but never on a feature car. One of my judges has a 92 and he says that all cars came with that cover on the positive terminal. I'm not sure that's correct.

There was a 92 near my car that only had 6500 miles. It was the often heard about little old lady car that the new owner just happend to luck into. He nor the original owner did not even know it was special. Other than an aftermarket AC compressor it was bone stock down to the Ford demonstration casset tape.

Comments

• I have never seen a cover on pos. terminal but I'm no expert. I can tell you I purchased my 92 in 95 with 7900 mi. and still had the original battery and no cover.
  • Interesting turn of events, I went back by the same car later to talk to the judge and the pos terminal boot was gone.
  • It is possible someone tore it off thinking it shouldn't have been there. That would have been a shame if it was indeed original.

The way I have heard it is Ford would put on cars what was available at time of assembly. If Billy-Bob's battery cable company, Johnny James' battery cable company and Janie Sue's battery cable company were making cables for Ford back then and one shipment had covers and another didn't what was in the pile at time of assembly goes on the car. When I have bought brand new battery cables for my cars they have come with Thunderbird part numbers on them. I don't recall if that is both or one one or the other.